Author Topic: Are there any "Hams" in Region Three?  (Read 1431 times)

Offline NC Rifleman

• Prepper
  • General Class in Ham Radio
Are there any "Hams" in Region Three?
« on: October 30, 2008, 07:35:27 PM »
Particularity in North Carolina?  I am a licensed General Class holder and am looking for others semi close and close by to test out communications setups with.  Or if there is anyone who seriously would like to get into Ham Radio and lives in NC I would like to help you out. I have a few books and gear someone could barrow/have.

Offline Tennessee Mountaineer

• Prepper
Re: Are there any "Hams" in Region Three?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2008, 10:56:35 AM »
Hi, I am a recently liicensed Technician KI6SBZ. Got my ticket in San Diego and moved to East TN near the Smoky Mts. I am using an HT ight now but plan to get my general ticket and get on HF soon. 73's!

amtank

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2008, 11:15:08 PM »
Wassup....but I am sans radio right now.

Offline NC Rifleman

• Prepper
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2008, 12:17:34 PM »
Hi, I am a recently liicensed Technician KI6SBZ. Got my ticket in San Diego and moved to East TN near the Smoky Mts. I am using an HT ight now but plan to get my general ticket and get on HF soon. 73's!

Good to hear.  A great band to get into is 6 meters.  With both of us using a decent beam we could talk to each other via simplex. 6 meters is such a fun band to be on.  Try and save your dolars and get a decient "HF" Radio.  The one I got was the Yeasu Ft-857 http://www.hamcity.com/detail.aspx?ID=320 and thats the place I got it from.  You will also need a power supply to go with it.  http://www.hamcity.com/detail.aspx?ID=812 Thats the one I got and it worked great.  However its now on the shelf since I run my radio gear from a solar panel.

SueDonim

« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2008, 12:57:54 PM »
No ham radio, but I am a huge fan of ham in general.  Or pork chops for that matter.  If you have any to loan out, let me know.  ;D