Author Topic: Worth it to build an AK?  (Read 10401 times)

Offline strangetanks

• Senior Survivalist
  • New TSP Forum member
Worth it to build an AK?
« on: December 31, 2014, 05:56:21 AM »
So I have to admit I have very little experience with firearms.  But I would like to change that.

I'm seriously contemplating building an AK, most likely from a chopped up parts kit.  Part of it is the expense, hard to justify spending loads of money on something that in all reality won't get used hardly at all.  Second is by building something you become super intimately familiar with how it works and why.  Lastly, I just plain like to tinker.

I am a pretty advanced shop guy, I have a milling machine, metal lathe, mig and tig machines, press and all that stuff.  I don't plan on buying any bending jigs or anything as I can probably make all that.

My real question is first of all, I don't want to blow my face off the first time I use the thing, no clue how common a failure like that is on a home built firearm.  And, I've looked into the prices of parts and such and am not sure if either I'm looking in the wrong places but it seems like I'm potentially doing a lot of work and saving very little money.

I couldn't find any threads on the subject, but advice or links would be appreciated.

Offline Mortblanc

• Survivalist Mentor
  • New TSP Forum member
Re: Worth it to build an AK?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2014, 08:01:14 AM »
First, there are whole forums out there dealing with AK builds.

http://ak-builder.com/

Second, Although some folks prefer to build their own it is not really a cost saving effort when one can buy an AK for a bit over $500 new from several suppliers.

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/index.php/cPath/36_756/Century+International+Arms+Inc./

Third, Not using one hardly at all is a choice, not a reality. 

d3nni5

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2014, 08:04:43 AM »