Author Topic: How did you get started? What was your best resource/s?  (Read 17090 times)

Offline Pudd

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
How did you get started? What was your best resource/s?
« on: October 20, 2013, 11:00:20 AM »
I’m a beginner. There have been many that preceded me. There will be many to follow. The goal here is to create a foundational archive for anyone new here and/or new to gardening in general. I want to stress that I am not compiling a college course. This is for new gardeners to get their feet wet and find their way from there. I understand we could compile an unlimited amount of information, but I am looking for basic, getting started links.

What did you use to get started in Gardening? What websites, blogs, podcasts, forum posts are the most beneficial?   I would like to focus more on free resources and keep free and paid resources segregated. A lot of the free stuff will point you towards paid media like PDC's and Marjory Wildcraft anyway.

So--back to the original questions. What did you use to get started? What have you seen since that seemed like a great resource for getting started? Please post your replies here with a category, one sentence description, and a link to the pertinent media. I will collect all of the replies, organize them, and post them separately in a dedicated thread.

I am look forward to your responses.

Offline mountainmoma

• Survival Demonstrator
  • suburban homesteader
Re: How did you get started? What was your best resource/s?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2013, 06:08:55 PM »
I got started with a mix of biointensive and permaculture principals. I have checked out these self teaching videos/handouts and think they would be very good for a beginner: http://www.growbiointensive.org/Self_Teaching.html

Offline Cedar

• ...just aDD water...
  • TSP Supreme Galactic Ant
  • Dont wait for the storm to pass, dance in the rain
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2013, 06:22:36 PM »