Author Topic: Fishing Gear for the Long Haul/After SHTF  (Read 21753 times)

Offline longhaul

• Prepper
Fishing Gear for the Long Haul/After SHTF
« on: March 10, 2009, 09:17:22 PM »
Hey folks - wondering what people thought the best fishing gear would be for post SHTF scenario?
I would think the this would be a rod, reel, line, lure setup that is:
-highly durable
-fixable with parts available to stock up on and mendable in the field (expedition fishing style gear)
-packable for travel..

I have little fishing experience so this is huge help!
Thanks...

Offline robt871

• Survivor
Re: Fishing Gear for the Long Haul/After SHTF
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 04:39:03 PM »
i have a pocket fisherman it has a tackle box built into the handle. i havent used it yet, but looking forward to soon.

Offline LGM30

• Senior Survivalist
  • The cold war didn't just end. It was won.
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2009, 08:30:59 PM »
I'm not a big fisherman either.  1 or two times per summer if I'm lucky.  But I think that equipment centering on aquiring natural bait might be better than a lure.  I have a lot of luck using live bait instead of expensive lures.  Sure I buy one every now and then, but I get the most strikes with natural bait.  So I'm thinking that minnow traps, electrodes for night crawlers, etc...might be better than a lure.  I think lures might work better in the hands of the experienced, but just a guess.

Also in a SHTF scenario I'm not gonna be too worried 'bout Mr. DNR citing me for multiple lines, or snagging salmon, or running a fish trap.  Having 10 lines with hooks and a meal worm tied to a floating coke bottle it cheap.  10 decked out rod / real combos with lures and such adds up fast.

Offline Red Dog

• Survivor
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2009, 09:22:47 PM »