Author Topic: Kratky Containers  (Read 1348 times)

Offline flynnguy

• Fledgling Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Kratky Containers
« on: April 08, 2020, 12:28:01 PM »
I'm surprised there isn't more Kratky discussions on here but I found what I think is an ingenious container for herbs and small plants. Soda/Beer cans, especially the new 19.2oz ones. Using a regular can opener, you can remove the top (without leaving any jagged edges) and it fits a 2" net cup perfectly.

I'm just getting started with hydro/kratky but I think these will work well, the only real downside is they are light and might tip over easily. However, you could put them in a 6 pack holder which would probably help. I dunno, I'm gonna give it a shot.

Offline Stwood

• Survival Veteran
  • Wut wuz dat Olie?
Re: Kratky Containers
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2020, 08:33:41 AM »
Kratky. Something I'm not familiar with.

Offline LvsChant

• Resident Master Mudder
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Veteran
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2020, 10:31:39 AM »
I think it is something Jack Spirko is talking about on the podcast... he also put out a YT vid on making the Kratky containers... it is apparently a hydroponics system. Here is his intro podcast about it: http://www.thesurvivalpodcast.com/kratky-hydroponics-intro

Offline goldbugger

• Fledgling Prepper
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2020, 07:03:31 AM »
So I have been studying Jack's setup and Kratky. I assume Jack is using the large containers so that there is less work than maintaining individual cans? The added circulation system to help make it more hands-free? Really touch to find large plastic containers with low profile, at least online at the moment.

Offline LvsChant

• Resident Master Mudder
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Veteran
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2020, 07:54:10 AM »
Just looking at all the pump, containers, pvc pipes, etc.... I'm thinking those are going to be some very expensive tomatoes... just sayin'

Offline Stwood

• Survival Veteran