Finance and Economics > The Money Board

Best alternative to coinbase for crypto wallet?

(1/3) > >>

Mental Arson:
I'm fairly new to crypto currency, and I recently received a notice from Coinbase informing me they must close all accounts belonging to Hawaii residents due to Hawaii's effort to be able to tax everything.

What do you recommend is the best alternative to Coinbase?
...and I wonder if any Crypto company will have the same issue.

I never thought I'd have to ask...but how to people in China own crypto with their country's controls?

--- Quote ---The Hawaii Division of Financial Institutions (DFI) has communicated regulatory policies which we believe will render continued Coinbase operations there impractical.  In particular, we understand that the Hawaii DFI will require licensure of entities which offer certain virtual currency services to Hawaii residents. Although Coinbase has no objection to this policy decision, we understand the Hawaii DFI has further determined that licensees who hold virtual currency on behalf of customers must maintain redundant fiat currency reserves in an amount equal to the aggregate face value of all digital currency funds held on behalf of customers. Although Coinbase securely maintains 100% of all customer funds on behalf of our customers, it is impractical, costly, and inefficient for us to establish a redundant reserve of fiat currency over and above customer digital currency secured on our platform.
--- End quote ---
https://support.coinbase.com/customer/portal/articles/2754027

FreeLancer:
If you only need storage without trading, Blockchain.info is an online bitcoin wallet I can recommend.  Make sure to use a unique random password and 2-Factor Authentication, which you were hopefully already doing at coinbase.  There is also a phone app that is just as easy to use as coinbase's.