Author Topic: Looking for Info on Spokane County, Washington  (Read 337 times)

Offline Shaddess

• Fledgling Prepper
  • Live long; live honest
Looking for Info on Spokane County, Washington
« on: December 11, 2017, 11:34:56 PM »
Hello TSP!
I am a long time listener but haven't really popped in the forums very often. 

Anyway, I am just beginning a journey into trying to get back to property ownership.  After a divorce that left me nearly penniless, I am finally rebuilding my life to something more like human and I am desperate to get back into property ownership.  Problem is, I am currently living and working in California!  To be fair, I live in the north state which is truly gorgeous, however and as always, the people really screw a place up. 

I am looking at getting property in Washington State and I was hoping to get some feedback from people who have experience in the eastern part.  I am hoping to stay in property management after I find a property, so i would need to be within 30 minutes drive to a major city.  With that in mind, I have been looking to the rural area's outside of Spokane.  Property in this area is not only radically better priced than any California counterpart, but the state also has radically less people to go on a screw up the state rampage!  At least I hope that is the case.

What are the building codes like (looking to homestead with either a small house or do alternative housing)
What are good fruits and veggies that grow well in the region?
Is the job market decent in the Spokane area?
What is the eastern states culture like?

Offline CarbideAndIron

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Steve
Re: Looking for Info on Spokane County, Washington
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2017, 07:09:48 AM »
We have friends north of Spokane towards Deer Park. Very affordable (compared to W.Wa) and beautiful up there. It's like 35min from Spokane, unless you get stuck behind someone slow...then it'll take a while.