Author Topic: Kansas City area board looks quiet...?  (Read 202 times)

Offline JimNKC

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Kansas City area board looks quiet...?
« on: June 02, 2017, 09:26:28 PM »
We have 1/3 acre near North Kansas City and it sounds like we are going to need to stay here several more years. I've been listening to TSP for 2 or 3 months now, started at episode 1 and up to about 325 or so... wondering if there are many up this way that are urban farmers who might be willing to share tips, etc.

I've started growing some microgreens in the basement and the wife is on board with that, and I've started reading whatever I can get on permaculture, would like to build a chicken coop for maybe 6 chickens (have never had but KCMO let's us have up to 15 non crowing), and have an interest in starting some hydro/aquaponics, square foot gardening, and some sort of natural barrier to make it harder for our nosy neighbor on one side to use us as her entertainment! Don't think we have room to try to start keeping bees, although that sounds interesting too.

I figure if we are stuck here for a while, may as well improve the land where we can. The wife actually said she might consider moving to Kansas, but first we need to dump debts and do some fixing on this house... on the other hand, can use the basement as my growing laboratory and try to perfect a system for sale-able veggies/greens. Maybe that plus our solar system will help the house value when we sell if the right folks come along... productive gardens might too, right?

Offline Chemsoldier

• Pot Stirrer
  • Global Moderator
  • Survival Veteran
Re: Kansas City area board looks quiet...?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2017, 10:38:40 PM »
I live in Kansas and will be moving to the kansas side of the KC Metro later in the summer.  I have a fairly mobile life so gardening is hit or miss depending on work.

If you ham or shoot or want to learn, let me know.

Offline JimNKC

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member