Author Topic: Limits of self-taught medicine?  (Read 11324 times)

Offline AHA

• Prepper
    • Interesting Times
Limits of self-taught medicine?
« on: November 01, 2009, 09:42:48 AM »
How good can you get as an autodidact? My definition is "someone who didn't go to med school", so you can still go to first aid classes and such and still count as self-taught in my book.

What are some examples of people with a high degree of medical proficiency who are self-taught?

Offline docred

• Prepper
Re: Limits of self-taught medicine?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2009, 12:33:37 PM »
My opinion: I think you need some level of structured training as a foundation. More important than the basic knowledge of anatomy, physiology, pathology and therapeutics is that having a recognized level of education lets you get some experience. You can read all the books ever made, but you need to see LOTS of cases to develop comfort, judgment and practical skills.

Offline Altered Mental Status

• Prepper
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2009, 09:05:56 PM »
Nothing like seeing someone who is symptomatic of a disease or injury, books just don't do it justice.... ;D

Offline Shiv

• Prepper
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2009, 09:25:31 PM »
Agreed!  Even if it is a 6 month EMT course, it is a great foundation.

Offline Orionblade

• Taffeta Boy
  • Dedicated Contributor
  • Blacksmiths hit it while it's hot.
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2009, 01:57:54 PM »
I'm pre med, and although I could likely treat everyday junk no problem, I defer to the following analogy: