Site Suggestions, Support and Resources > The Front Porch

Intro Thread

(1/1665) > >>

BigDanInTX:
Hey, guys...  Figured we could use an intro thread.  Let's use this to introduce yourself if you're new and welcome those coming in.  =-]

I'm Dan and I'm a Software Developer living in Round Rock, TX.  33, Married, 2 kids (6 and 3).  I'm CHL and have some firearms experience, but no rifle experience yet (AR's almost fully built).  Still kind of new to the preparedness thing, but I have a working knowledge of what I need to get done and I'm taking weekly steps to get there.

I've been listening to Jack since around episode 10 or so.  Before listening to his prep podcasts, I was in a mad panic to "catch up", however after listening to his advice, I quickly shifted gears and am now doing a little bit each week.  I had been leery of his more political topics, but decided to give them a chance and I've been really glad I did.  So many people try to shove what they believe down other peoples' throats.  Jack doesn't do that and that helps his message even more IMO.

I'm glad all of you made it in here and I hope we can all help each other to get ready for the rough ride ahead!  =-]

EDIT: Others were talking about wife's support.  For me, she thinks I'm crazy, but she's willing to "play along".  She rolls her eyes at me when I buy something for preps, but I think she may start thinking I'm right about this stuff.  The Hurricane Ike aftermath, with my grandparents without power for 6 days may have opened her eyes to some things.  Also, her eyes used to glaze over when I mentioned economy stuff, but she's seeing enough of it in the news that she may actually be turning a corner.  That, and she didn't get upset when I bought silver without "permission".  lol

EDIT: Also, be sure to let us know if you are coming in from another survival-oriented board.  I'm coming from Zombie Squad myself.  =-]

jeremya: