Survivalism & Self Sufficiency Topics > Camping

Which Pack?

(1/2) > >>

Crusher13:
I am looking for some feedback on a new pack. I am deciding between a Maxpedition Condor II, Falcon II, or a Snugpak Rocket Pack. The pack will be used mainly for daily use back and forth to work and for traveling. I am engineer by trade and spend a fair amount of time traveling and doing field work. I have become a light packer and for an overnight business trip I like to take only one bag for clothes/toiletries, laptop, and misc items. Does anyone have any experience with these three packs for that use. I know the Rocket Pack is much larger with both rockets attached but similar in size with them removed and could be used for extended trips as well.

The Professor:
Sadly enough, I have all three (I'm a gear freak, I can't help it... I see tactical bags and I just gotta buy them. . .it's a sickness) including knock-offs from Voo-Doo for the Condor and Falcon.

I do like the Snugpack for the same reason you posted, it's a larger and can be increased in size.  For me this makes it a better BOB.  But, if you buy the either of the Maxpedition packs, it's not difficult adding side modules on.

You can't go wrong with any of the choices.  Maxpeditions are a little more. . .versatile.  More internal pockets, dividers, etc.

But there's a lot to be said about simplicity, too.

So. . .yeah. . .they're all good.  Sorry I can't be much more help.

The Professor

Gray Ghost:
Wow The Professor and I thought I was bad! Sadly, I suffer the same affliction. The only thing that has kept me from going completely nuts is my "gear budgeting".