Survivalism & Self Sufficiency Topics > Fishing

Catfish Trotline

(1/3) > >>

jasperg357:
Currently here in Santee Cooper Sc. Drift fishing and trot lining for catfish on Lake Moultrie. Thought I would try to upload a few photos of the fish plus the surrounding area.

rustyknife:
Nice pic's....wish I knew how to do that....The catfish reminded me of a time when as a kid I would go fishing with my grandpa...those memories a great.  I've never used a trotline before, maybe you can show some diagrams on how it is set up and used. What kind of bait did you use?

jasperg357:
I am currently using a 100 hook trotline which is around 400 ft. in length. I have the hooks set about 10 ft off the bottom, will see what I can do about getting a diagram uploaded. I prefer using herring cut bait, but I have also used raisons, grapes, shrimp and hotdogs but I seem to have better luck with herring. Nobody seems to be doing very well fishing don’t know if it’s the warmer weather we are having here are what, but I currently have about 70 pounds of catfish fillets in the freezer last year I brought home around 312 pounds of catfish fillets.

rustyknife: