Armory, Self Defense, And EDC > The .22 Caliber Rifle: An Essential Homestead Firearm

.22 long rifle conversion for AR-15?

(1/3) > >>

Heavy G:
I'm thinking about getting a .22lr conversion kit for my AR-15 to save on ammo costs.

Anybody have any thoughts?  I have a Bushmaster A2.

firetoad:
Heavy,

I looked into it myself, but the reviews on the conversion kits tend to be more good than negative.  However, I cannot justify the cost with the negatives out there.  I was at Walmart today looking around at their .22 selection and they have the Marlin Model 60 for $147!  I am thinking about going that route myself.

Now, if you are looking at it from a training standpoint for the AR, my answer above doesn't hold as much weight. 

Ebbtide:
I have also looked into this for a while now. You can beat the spike's kit for $199. Great company and way better then the Ciener (SP?) kit.

kaiservontexas:
AGI warns: when shooting .22lr rounds via a conversion kit through your AR-15 rifle that after every 150-200 rounds to fire 3-5 rounds of .223rem to get the lead fouling out of the gas tube.

I own the armorer's dvd and remember that part because I was thinking of a conversion once.

I would just go with a .22lr rifle instead.

wbo3: