Author Topic: Plantain medicinal syrup  (Read 581 times)

Offline Knecht

• Dedicated Contributor
  • Czech emissary at TSP forum
Plantain medicinal syrup
« on: April 10, 2020, 06:59:39 AM »
Since some of you have previously asked me about my homemade plantain syrup, I thought I'll post about it in a separate topic. With all the "I'm not a doctor" disclaimer stuff in mind (actually I am a doctor, though in a different field), let's get to the recipe, as plantain is just about to start growing (depending where you are, it may grow at your place already). First of all, all the plantain species that I'm aware of in my area (central Europe) are edible and not only harmless, but with recognized medicinal effect. I'm not aware of any plantain species elsewhere that would be a health hazard, but 1) do your own research for your location, 2) if you're not familiar with the plant, make sure you know what you're picking.
While other plantain species might also work, my family has always used the narrowleaf plantain (Plantago lanceolata) only. We pick nice clean leaves only, of course not along roads and such, only at nice clean places. Depending on how much are you worried about possible contamination (animal poop an all the good stuff that comes with it), you may want to wash it, more or less. If you want to take the syrup making seriously, you're gonna need a small basket of the leaves, at least. But of course you can make it in any amount you want.
Now, some recipes call for boiling the leaves along with sugar, but that's not how we do it. They also call for macerating the leaves for 2-10 days. Amateurs. This is how it's really done:
- get a big glass jar, clean it well, sterilize if possible
- put some sugar on the bottom
- put a layer of plantain leaves over the sugar (some people shred the leaves, we don't)
- repeat layering the leaves and sugar, making about 1cm thick layers (don't be shy to press the leaves)