Farm, Garden and The Land > Live Stock, Critters and Aquaculture

New to rabbits

(1/7) > >>

Lockdown:
I am new to rabbits and have recently put in a buck and two does. they willl be bred next month when the does are old enough and right now i am just getting used to taking care of them. I have them in my garage in seperate cages, hung from the wall with a piece of corrugated plastic hung under the cages to catch the droppings and let them fall in to a collection bucket. I free feed hay and was wondering what to do with all the hay they kick out of the cages. Is it possible to just scoop up the kicked out hay, shake out the droppings and put it back in the cage. I know that sounds strange, with the urine on the hay and all, but they are kicking out a huge amount and I was going to use the hay for their bedding also. I need to find a way to not waste so much. Thanks

Lockdown

Cedar:
That us why I don't feed hay except for special occasions like Christmas and Easter. If you have good quality 18% feed, you don't need it.

Cedar

Lockdown:

--- Quote from: Cedar on October 28, 2014, 12:56:27 AM ---That us why I don't feed hay except for special occasions like Christmas and Easter. If you have good quality 18% feed, you don't need it.

Cedar

--- End quote ---
what do you use for bedding on the cage floor and do you put it back in if they kick it out?

Cedar:
Mine are in self cleaning wire cages. That said, I still have to clean them every 3-4 months, as with our higher humidity, hair sticks to the wire when they shed out and then poo starts to accumulate (I never had this problem since 1977, just here now that I really live in Rain Forest). No, they do not get sore hocks from the wire.

When the does are having a litter, they get nestboxes stuffed with oat straw.