Author Topic: All my brews smell like butt!  (Read 6188 times)

Offline mnotlyon

• Senior Survivalist
All my brews smell like butt!
« on: May 07, 2015, 09:21:24 PM »
I'm pretty new to brewing. I started with an apple wine,
I've done a couple of beer kits, and hard lemonade.
The beer kits came with their own yeast, I've been using Lavalin ec-1118 for the other stuff. Sometimes with yeast nutrient, sometimes not.
I use starsan to sanitize. I've bottled some of my brews in bottles, and others in minikegs. When I pour a new glass, it smells a lot like flatulence. If I let it set for a while, the smell goes away.

I think I've done a good job of sanitizing my equipment and bottles.

What could be causing the smell?

Offline Beetlebum

• Survivor
  • New TSP Forum member
Re: All my brews smell like butt!
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2015, 10:41:52 AM »
So you brew various recipes, some beer some not, bottle and/or keg, use different yeast and you've had this smell every time? After the smell dissipates, how do they taste?

My first question is how long are you letting it ferment? Yeasts can produce an awful smell while it ferments. What are you using for your fermentation vessel? Check it (and all your vessels) for any material rot or trapped grain. I believe my beers taste and smell noticeably better when I cold condition. Of course, keep everything as clean as possible and keep learning how to minimize infection risk whenever you open it up.

Don't worry, have a homebrew.

Offline mnotlyon

• Senior Survivalist
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2015, 12:19:47 PM »
So you brew various recipes, some beer some not, bottle and/or keg, use different yeast and you've had this smell every time? After the smell dissipates, how do they taste?

Yep, I have this smell pretty much every time.
Sometimes my air lock is still gurgling a little every minute or two when I bottle. I wonder if maybe I'm rushing the fermenting.

Once the drink sets for a while, the smell goes away, and they taste good.