Survivalism & Self Sufficiency Topics > Processing Food For Storage

I'm new to prepping - question re: Vacuum sealing

(1/4) > >>

OrchidBetty:
Hi, I'm new to prepping and went into overdrive getting ready for hurricane season. I have two questions:

1.) I got a hand-me-down Rival Seal-a-meal vacuum sealer, model VS100. I'm in love with it. However, it started burning holes in two spots while sealing bags. I couldn't find that much info online but I assumed it needed new Teflon tape. It wasn't easy to replace but I got a new strip of teflon HOWEVER there seems to be a wrinkle in the heat coil that is causing the problem. It's no longer burning holes but there is definitely a bubble in the same place as the old tape.   Anyone else have this problem? Is it fixable or do I junk this unit?

2.) I live in a humid & salty area. I have a storage problem and have to keep my supplies outside. I have been sealing nearly all of my emergency supplies in the hopes of keeping out moisture, bugs, and slowing down (salt) corrosion. I also have the food in a (dry) cooler, in the hopes that the cooler will create more of a barrier from the heat (in vain?)  What would be best -- cutting a hole in the factory food package and then vacuuming the air out or vacuum sealing the outer package but leaving the factory sealing alone? The package would be puffy but it will be puffy from the manufactures air (if that makes sense).

Thanks!   

Morning Sunshine:
a lot of times the air in the factory bag acts as a cushion against crushing.  Personally, I would leave the factory bag as is.  An extra barrier doesn't hurt either.

I do not use my vacuum sealer much any more.  But I live in the high mountain desert of northern Utah.  Dry as a bone.  And, I think more to the point, with 5 kids we don't have a lot of time before food is gone rotated through.  ;D

Chemsoldier: