Armory, Self Defense, And EDC > Firearms Advice For Beginners

New to Firearms...Looking for Suggestions for my 1st Handgun!

(1/10) > >>

silver_back:
Hey everyone

Question for any and all willing to answer

(Before proceeding I should state that I am Canadian...so some of the terms used may be different than those used in the USA or other countries)

I am new to firearms.  I did not grow up around guns (some family members did hunt, but it was before my time) so I am new to all aspects related to firearms.  I recently got my non-restricted licence (basically allows me to purchase long barrelled guns/rifles typically used for hunting and/or range shooting).  I will be getting my restricted license in the next month (which allows me to purchase handguns).

I should mention that I posted a similar topic in the “Modern Rifles, Shotguns, and Carbines” forum (requesting suggestions related to purchasing my 1st long barrelled gun/rifle/shotgun).  So in addition to researching my 1st long barrelled gun/rifle/shotgun, i am also doing research prior to purchasing my 1st handgun. 

Unlike the topic i started in the “Modern Rifles, Shotguns, and Carbines” forum (stating that i am interested in purchasing an entry level firearm) for my 1st handgun i am looking at acquiring a more intermediate level firearm.  Seeing as i am new to firearms/shooting, I plan to shoot at the range as much as possible in order to “get my chops up”.  With that in mind I wanted to purchase a firearm that is a intermediate level firearm (not entry level, but not top of the line) that will be relatively cheap to shoot (read as: I can shoot a couple times a week without breaking the bank!).

So my question to you is...

Does anyone have any suggestions regarding a good intermediate level handgun?  My budget for this firearm is approximately $1500.