Armory, Self Defense, And EDC > Firearms Advice For Beginners

New to Firearms...Looking for Suggestions on my 1st Firearm

(1/4) > >>

silver_back:
Hey everyone

Question for any and all willing to answer

(Before proceeding I should state that I am Canadian...so some of the terms used may be different than those used in the USA or other countries)

I am new to firearms.  I did not grow up around guns (some family members did hunt, but it was before my time) so I am new to all aspects related to firearms.  I recently got my non-restricted licence (basically allows me to purchase long barrelled guns/rifles typically used for hunting and/or range shooting).  I am now doing research prior to purchasing my 1st firearm.

I am interested in purchasing an entry level firearm that I can use to shoot at the range and gain some experience shooting.  Seeing as i am new, I plan to shoot at the range as much as possible in order to “get my chops up”.  With that in mind I wanted to purchase a firearm that is a decent entry level model and will be cheap to shoot (read as: I can shoot a couple times a week without breaking the bank!).
So my question to you is...

Does anyone have any suggestions regarding a good entry level firearm (long barrelled gun/rifle/shotgun) that is under $600 and is relatively cheap to shoot?

I went down to the local outdoor sports/hunting store, and gave the salesmen a story similar to that posted above, and he recommended the following firearm:

http://www.wholesalesports.com/storefront/hunting/firearms/rimfire-rifles/10-22-all-weather-model/prod101959.html

The salesmen recommend putting a decent sight (for $50-$60) on the firearm and said that I would be “ready to go”.

Any comments on the above firearm?   

Thanks in advance for the help/advise!

Pathfinder: