Author Topic: A mylar / dry goods storage method I've been using for several years  (Read 793 times)

Offline richardr

• Prepper
  • New TSP Forum member
Back in 2012 I decided I wanted to start some long-term food storage and do so by all the core tenets of 'buy it cheap and stack it deep', 'buy what you eat', first in, first out'. I started off with dry goods. I looked at the various recommendations and settled on 1gal mylar pouches, oxygen absorbers, but got a little hung up on the '5gal bucket / gamma lid'. It didn't make much economic sense to me to spend $6-12 per bucket to store <$10 worth of food.  Plus I'm living in the suburbs of L.A. and didn't really have a lot of room for stacks of 5gal buckets or the questions from visiting neighbors.

So I thought about it some, the issues and needs, and elected to use brand new galvanized 31gal trash cans, instead of 5gal buckets.
I added some salvaged casters from office chairs I'd murdered, using some surplus wood / offcuts to make rolling bases for the cans. I put a simple peel and stick foam rubber door / window gasket inside the lid to bug-proof its fit and a cheap rubber bungee from the can handles and along the groove of the can lid to hold the lid down tight. Viola, a giant vermin-proof '5gal bucket', that nobody really sees or notices.

I put 10cups or so of stuff in each 1gal mylar pouch, various rices, various dried beans, sugars, corn meal and flour - yes, flour, it keeps for 2-3 years before the odor changes and 3+ before it becomes unpalatable, so I've been passing it on to food banks and thru church groups at about the 2yr mark. By the 50# bag at warehouse or restaurant supply stores, it was only about 50cents/#. So it costs very little to have flour ready to use, no grain mill and wheat berries and I'm actually using what I store.