Survivalism & Self Sufficiency Topics > Home And Business Security

Ideas for securing the house in a bug-in situation

(1/9) > >>

Onug:
And for my first real post...I did some searching, but didn't see anything that satisfies my question.

I have a typical split level two story house and I'm working on an idea for securing it in a bug-in situation.  Skip the property (for now), for starters I'm just focusing on the house and how to keep it secure and my family safe.

There are no points-of-entry on the sides of the house, so I only need to worry about the front and the back.  At the front, I have the front door (ground level obviously), garage doors (2) and windows (1st and 2nd floors).  Out back, there are windows (1st and 2nd floors), one steel "person" door (1st floor, off garage) and a glass sliding door (2nd floor off deck, with stairs to ground level).

The question...what is the best way to secure the house?

I have one concept and two ideas.  My concept...and I'm new to all of this, so my concept is from an FNG...is to secure the points-of-entry on the first floor and leave only one entry/exit at the front and one at the back.  So that narrows things down to two areas to defend and (hopefully) always one way to escape. 

* My first idea is to put plywood over everything on the first floor besides the front door and the rear slider.  So cover the windows, garage doors and back door.  Two completely separate, independent points-of-entry in two separate directions.

* My second idea is to secure (again with plywood) all points of entry on the first floor (including the stairs to the deck) besides one garage door and the steel door off the garage.  So have two points-of-entry from two locations but feeding into one choke point.  As I see it, this is easier to defend, but also harder to escape from.
Other info that might be handy