Community & Regional Connections > Region Three

Eastern Tn or Western Nc?

(1/3) > >>

huntsman78:
I am born and raised in MN and finally ready to get out. My fiance and I were recently in Hickory Nc visiting family and thought that area may be a good place to try next. In doing some research, the Johnson city area of Tennessee looks like it could also be a good place for us. I am a welder, but I also have sales experience so I would most likely be looking for work in one of those fields. We would like to get a house with some acreage out of town but not completely in the boonies. We are planning to garden and have some animals.
Is one side of the state line better or worse in any way than the other, ie: property taxes(I know Tennessee has no state income tax which if a +) , home prices, schools, climate, soil, restrictions, hunting, fishing, or any other way you can think of?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Morning Sunshine:
only one comment about your question (since I have visited neither location nor have an opinion).  You said you and your fiance(e?) are looking in that location.  Might I suggest you research and think about Homeschool?  Then it doesn't matter what the schools are like.  Because frankly, right now, the Feds are looking to run all the schools across the land, so it won't matter where you live: all schools will be equally dismal as they comply with DC to get $$$

huntsman78:
Morning sunshine,