Author Topic: Bow fishing reel?  (Read 10804 times)

Offline chad234

• Survivor
Bow fishing reel?
« on: January 09, 2010, 03:49:46 PM »
Anyone have some time behind a bow fishing reel? Any suggestions for an overview into the sport?

Offline flyfisher66048

• Survivor
Re: Bow fishing reel?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2010, 07:27:50 PM »
I'm not an expert, not even a good rookie.  I use an AMS reel on a bear Grizzly that is about 50 lbs at my draw length.  I always use AMS safety slides on my arrows.  You don't want an arrow getting jerked back into your eye/face.  Shoot low due to water refraction.  The deeper the fish the lower you have to aim.  I used to wade in TX and hunt for carp and gar.  I got a boat this fall that has a raised shooting platform with lights for night time shooting.  I thought it would be god for flyfishing and bow fishing.  I would love to try hunting stingrays down on the coast.  I think the stinger would make an interesting trophy.

Offline chad234

• Survivor
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2010, 08:37:21 PM »
Thanks for the tips. Skate is some good eating too.

Offline Steve Cover

• Survivalist Mentor
  • Mr. C ..... Das Ugly Mutt
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2010, 05:12:08 PM »
Anyone have some time behind a bow fishing reel? Any suggestions for an overview into the sport?
Bowfishing reels are are quite varied.

For Example:

This wired on bait bucket worked well for me. 

Because some of the Gar we were hunting were pretty large, the line was attached to an empty gallon milk jug instead of the bow.

The large Gar were not kept but were shot in the head and dragged up on the beach.  We brought this small one home to photograph. 

[Before some Politically Correct Moron takes me to task for this form of varnmint hunting, understand that there was no natural preditor, and these were not native to the area were were hunting them.

The Gar were rapidly destroying the Bass populations.  We were helping bringing the ecosystem back into balance.]