Survivalism & Self Sufficiency Topics > Hunting

Squirrel Stew - Yum!

(1/8) > >>

ModernSurvival:
I have mentioned squirrel stew on the show a few times and have been asked in more then one email how to make it.  This is my own way to make squirrel stew and was an adaptation from my grandmaw's regular stew.  I did my best from memory and with some adaptation I came out with a heck of a good stew.

She died when I was 9 and I did not start hunting till 13, there were squirrels everywhere and we had tons in the freezer.  Mostly we roasted them in browing bags and that was good but I always wanted stew, none of the adults cared to bother so I just got out the stuff and this is what I came up with.  You can also do this with rabbit or hybrid your stew with half of each. 

Note you are not gonna see a lot of cups or this or teaspoons of that like most male self taught game cooks I just cook by eye and taste.

First I really recommend soaking your squirrels in salt water over night.  It helps tenderize them and if you used a shot gun really takes away the blood shot too.

Next I can't be bothered to bone squirrel meat.  What I do is quarter them, when stewed long the meat practically falls of the bone anyway.  I "quarter them"  cut off the front legs and shoulders as units, then the same with the back legs and then cut the back bone just behind the ribs.  You could do away with the ribs but I leave them on for flavor if nothing else.

I then roll the pieces in flour.  I use about 8 squirrels per pot but if I am making stew I am making a BIG pot.  4 would make a more typical pot of stew for many folks.

Then take your stew pot and add some oil, a chopped onion, some chopped garlic and 6-8 strips of bacon cut in large pieces.  (the bacon was my addition to add "fat" we used pork in deer sausage so this seemed to make sense).