Author Topic: What kind of accuracy can I expect out of my airgun?  (Read 12336 times)

Offline Heavy G

• Distorting the Space-Time Continuum
  • Moderator On Leave
  • Survival Veteran
  • A misfit ant in a grasshopper world.
    • 299 Days
What kind of accuracy can I expect out of my airgun?
« on: November 26, 2009, 02:10:45 PM »
I'm new to airguns.  A friend gave me a Beeman RX1 in .20 with a Theoben gas ram.

It has a nice Bushnell 4x12 scope.  It's heavy and has an adjustable trigger that I have set to about 3 or 4 pounds if I had to guess.

I plan on using it for crows and other vermin.  Plinking too.  Maybe field target competitions.  And some cheap bench rest practice.  I'm not a super dedicated psycho airgun hobbyist.  I'm just a guy with a free gun who wants to get the most out of it that he can.

I've shot it twice.  First time I used Benjamin pellets.  The second time I used Beeman pellets.

I'm sighting it in at 25 yards.  Yes, a little far for an air rifle to be super accurate but for crows I think 25 yards is a good sight in range.

Accuracy so far (just two shootings) has not been what I expected.  Groups of about 1.5 inches with occasional fliers.  (I have been paying attention to seating the pellets flush with the breach and not nicking them with my fingernails; that cut down on the fliers.)  No detectable wind when I shot. 

I've heard stories about good pellet guns having "one hole" groups.  Is that at a couple yards instead of 25? 

My goal is to get the groups down to about 1 inch at 25 yards. 

I have about 8 kinds of Beeman pellets to experiment with.  I expect to find some that are far more accurate than others.  And just shooting it more will get me better with it.

I haven't cleaned the barrel yet.  There's some special stuff to do with airgun cleaning so I'm waiting until I learn more about it before I do it. 

But my question to y'all is: what kind of accuracy can I expect out of a good pellet gun like this?

Offline kiteflyer