Author Topic: Programming a Ham Radio (baofeng UV-5R+)  (Read 9413 times)

Offline Saint-TyR

• Survivor
    • Ruby Lane Farm
Programming a Ham Radio (baofeng UV-5R+)
« on: October 19, 2013, 04:51:43 PM »
I am new to Ham radios and I am working towards getting my Tech/Gen license. I just got in a baofeng UV-5R+ and want to program in some frequencies for my local area/region 1.

I am using the CHIRP software and was wondering if someone has a data file for New Hampshire and/or Maine with vital frequencies that I can use/upload.

Thanks and Stay Safe!

Offline SCWolverine

• Survivalist Mentor
Re: Programming a Ham Radio (baofeng UV-5R+)
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2013, 06:58:47 AM »
I do not...but I think CHIRP will allow you to pull information from "repeater book" to add to your radio. 

click "Radio" tab. then "Query Data Source" then "RepeaterBook"

make your choices from there and it should import all the information for the area you requested.

Hope that helps! Good Luck on your test!

SCW

Offline SCWolverine

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2013, 07:01:12 AM »
OH!!! Remember to read from your radio first before you try to make any changes to the software!

FWIW there is a Huge Thread dedicated to the Baofeng on ar15.com:
http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_10_22/664274_Baofeng_UV_5R_information.html

Offline Saint-TyR

• Survivor
    • Ruby Lane Farm
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2013, 08:52:00 AM »
I do not...but I think CHIRP will allow you to pull information from "repeater book" to add to your radio. 

click "Radio" tab. then "Query Data Source" then "RepeaterBook"

make your choices from there and it should import all the information for the area you requested.

Hope that helps! Good Luck on your test!

SCW

Thank you SCW! I will look into that. Some others from another forum said to check with my local small town PD for the freqs.

Stay safe!

Offline SCWolverine

• Survivalist Mentor
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2013, 06:08:53 AM »